Shark Week

Not that long ago I shared my fear of snakes in a post.  I have made always made it a point to never share my insane fears with my children in the hopes that they will die with me and not linger in generations to come.  This past week was a break from the norm however.

You see, next week our family is taking off for the Lower Mainland  on holidays.  As we will be staying with family right on the ocean I am sure there is going to come a point when someone brings up the brilliant idea of going for an ocean swim.  And this would be a wonderful idea if I didn’t have an insanely irrational fear of being eaten by a shark.  Honestly, I don’t even want to see one in its natural environment.  I don’t need to be eaten.  I am pretty sure I would die just seeing one swimming close to me.  Just talking about it is increasing my heart rate.

So it was very good timing then, that last week Discovery Channel had their annual Shark Week special.  And it was very devious of me to make sure each night some shark show was on for strictly ‘educational’ purposes.  I never once told the girls how crazy scared I was of sharks.  We talked about how cool they were.  How awesome their teeth were.  How they liked to kill and eat things.  All things.  All things in the water.  And I left it at that.  Bad mother.  I know.  But smart too.

You see, I just don’t know how to have that conversation with my children because it’s not a rational one.  How can I explain that mommy just can’t bring herself to frolic in the ocean because I will end up crying and rocking like a baby on the beach?  So I subliminally scared my children instead.  And you know what.  I am okay with that.  Just add it the ever-growing list of ways I have screwed up as a parent.

I hope that when I present them with the idea of going to the beach and swimming in the ocean water pool they will jump at the chance to be in the ocean but still in a pool….on the beach…beside the real ocean…but with no sharks.  But who knows what my children will have taken away from shark week.  Maybe they will have no problems with swimming in the ocean and I will have to cry and rock like a baby on the beach in front of them anyways.  They are a little too young to be embarrassed of that sort of behaviour from their mother.  Maybe I will get my period and then there is definitely NO way I will be going anywhere near the ocean and they will accept the answer that mommy has her period and leave it at that!

How about you?  Do you share your fears with your children and have you ever been devious in how you present information to your children like I have?

About Hattie
I am a stay at home, hip mommy of two beautiful little girls. I love to write and believe that there is humour in everything ...if you look from the right angle!

One Response to Shark Week

  1. Beth - Realist Mom says:

    I’m with you – but I have series of irrational fears (they don’t seem irrational to me, of course ). I try to let me kids know to be careful and what to do if bad situations present themselves – a fire, someone trying to abduct them, etc. etc. ETC.

    I am half encouraged, half horrified that my children are fearless.
    Most times, I stand there and sweat it out, with my finger on the 9 in 911.

    Good luck at the beach!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

